Rhythm Incursions: January 09


This month’s show comes literally in the nick of time, with less than 24 hours to go before we hit February. Still the benefit of a slight delay combined with the beginning of the new year is that we have a ridiculous amount of new music to go through this month, and I mean a lot.

One month in, and 2009 is already shaping up to be an interesting year with some really decent full length releases in the first few months of the year, most of which are highlighted in this month’s show. From L.A to Australia, England to Japan the show takes in new tracks from the likes of Exile, Filastine, Harmonic 313, Jneiro Jarel, Sleeper, Ras G, Two Fingers (aka Amont Tobin, Sway and Doublick) and Lukid among others. Most of these guys have got new releases out now or forthcoming in the next few months, so if you like what you hear be sure to check the links and support the artists.

To top all this freshness we also have a mini-feature on a Rhythm Incursions favourite, DJ Signify. His new album, ‘Of Cities,’ is being released on Bully Records this month and to celebrate we’re airing a couple of tracks, including a really tasty Aesop Rock collabo, as well as my favourite track from his previous LP on Lex.

So if all this isn’t enough to convince you to tune in then I’m not quite sure what will. Seriously. Download and tracklist are below as usual. And stay tuned for more guest mixes in February as well as Trick’s first show of the year and more regular shows from our fine roster of presenters.

Click here to download the show!

Bullion – Funnybones – One Handed Music
Guilty Simpson – Piglets (Oh No remix) – Stones Throw
Exile – The Sound is God – Plug Research
Ras G – Beyond the Sky – Poo-Bah records
Filastine – To the Motherfuckin’ East – Soot Records
Mochipet – Oly – Daly City records
Take – Bouncing Cherries – Circulations
Sleeper – Faulty – Mush records
Mini-feature starts
DJ Signify feat. Aesop Rock – Low Tide – Bully Records
DJ Signify feat. Buck 65 – Winter’s Gone – Lex Records
DJ Signify – 1993 – Bully Records
Mini-feature ends
Touchy Subject – Red Lights – Unreleased
Mount Kimbie – Maybes – Hotflush records
Lukid – Fall apart – Werk
Jneiro Jarel – Viberian Twilight – Lex Records
Harmonic 313 ft Steve Spacek – Falling Away – Warp records
Two Fingers ft Sway – What U Know about? – Big Dada
Geste – Jawbreaker – Equinox records

Never miss a show

Subscribe via our iTunes channel, RSS feed or newsletter and never miss a show. Simply click below:

Rhythm Incursions iTunes feedRhythm Incursions RSS feedRhythm Incursions Newsletter
blog comments powered by Disqus