Rhythm Incursions August 09

With September knocking at the door, it’s fair to say summer is well and truly over. And considering how strange it’s been weather wise here in the UK, I think it’s only fitting we end it with a blast of new music. Up this month we have plenty of forthcoming early autumn releases as well as a mini feature on Lorn, one of the producers we think you should definitely be keeping an eye on in the coming months.

Music comes in from all corners of the globe and all styles including Poirier, JS-1, Tiago, Ras G, Antipop Consortium, Luke Vibert, Shafiq Husayn, Milanese, Hessle Audio, Machine Drum, Lambent, Mos Def and more. You also get some previews of the forthcoming Ras G release on Ramp, as well as the new Friends of Friends EP.

The mini feature looks at the work of Lorn, someone who should be familiar to regular listeners as well as those who used to hang around scratch boards at the turn of the century. With an upcoming album on Flying Lotus’ Brainfeeder label, a recent release alongside Adoptahighway, plenty of dope free remixes knocking about the internet and more collaborations in the works, I selected five tracks to showcase his work. Over the years Lorn has, for me, definitely developed a sound and approach to his music that is unique and refreshing, as you’ll hopefully hear with this short selection.

So that’s it for august and for the summer, enjoy our last summer selection and we’ll be back as usual in a few weeks for the September show. In the meantime stay tuned for more guest mixes and freebies. Enjoy!

Download the show! (right click and save as)

oL – Night flight – Unreleased
DJ JS-1 ft. Aesop Rock, C-Rayz Walz and Vast Aire – Karma Killaz – Fat Beats
Thavius Beck – Part 2 – Big Dada
Afta 1 – Nightlight – Melting Pot Music
Untold – Luna – Unreleased
Tiago – Babel Fish – Rush Hour
Mono/Poly – Red and Yellow Toys – Planet Mu
Ras G – Stealth Mode – Dublab
Teeko – Easy Going – Unreleased
The Gaslamp Killer – Anything Worse – Brainfeeder
Lambent – Hook Rip – Project Mooncircle
Denka Nights – War of the Words – Unreleased
Kindred Spirits Ensemble – Ja-mil – Kindred Spirits
Mini feature starts
Omega Clash – Junior – Self released
Lorn – None An Island – Brainfeeder
Lorn – Requiem (ft. Mobb Deep) – Unreleased, download here
Lorn – Outlines – Unreleased
Lorn – Wake up Fucked Up – Unreleased, download here
Mini feature ends
Milanese – The End (Untold remix) – Planet Mu
Pearson Sound – Plsn – Hessle Audio
Terror Danjah – Zumpi Hunter VIP – Planet Mu
Joy Orbison – Wet Look – Hotflush recordings
Machine Drum ft. Theophilius London – Night Operation – Norm Rex
Depakote – Believe That – Self released, download here
Mos Def – Supermagic – Downtown Recordings
MBE – Logon To The Calling – Fullsteam Records
Luke Vibert – De Pimp Act – Planet Mu
Larytta – Promises – Friends of Friends
Poirier ft YT – Let Them Hate – Ninja Tune
Shafiq Hussayn – Rebel Soldier – Plug Research
Ras G – Lisa Bonet – Ramp Recordings
Antipop Consortium – Volcano (Four Tet remix) – Ninja Tune

Never miss a show

Subscribe via our iTunes channel, RSS feed or newsletter and never miss a show. Simply click below:

Rhythm Incursions iTunes feedRhythm Incursions RSS feedRhythm Incursions Newsletter
blog comments powered by Disqus