Southpaw Chop – Save The Vinyl mix

We stay in Japan for our next guest mix, returning to Takeshi Records for the occasion. You might remember the label from a series of free mp3s we posted last year from their Powerful Beacon releases. This time round we’ve got a guest mix from Southpaw Chop, an artist that works with the label and is about to release his ‘Never Stop Sampling’ EP on his own label, Southpaw Chop Music Production.

Southpaw Chop is a long-standing member, as a DJ and producer, of the Tokyo hip hop scene, building his skills and reputation since the turn of the century and working with many of the most famous names on the Tokyo underground such as DJ Krush and rapper Nipps. The EP features the legendary lyricist Large Pro on one cut, alongside a few instrumental tracks, all of which are taken from a forthcoming LP of the same name. The EP drops in late Feb in Japan, and a month later for rest of the world, while the LP follows roughly a month later. Distribution comes from Crosstalk Chicago, which should make finding it outside of Japan fairly easy.

Tracklist for the EP is as follows:
Southpaw Chop – Never Stop Sampling EP
A1. Here we go featuring Large Pro (EP Version)
A2. Here we go – instrumental (EP Version)
A3. Breeze beat
B1. Finger prints on the record
B2. Bring it on back
B3. Yet to be taught

Onto the mix – it’s an hour-long ride into Southpaw Chop’s fascination with vinyl and sampling, taking in some obvious and not so obvious classics, remakes and more. It’s a dense mix that fits the producer’s ethos quite nicely. It’s the kind of mix that will please straight up hip hop fans as well as tick the right boxes for those like me who may have stopped listening to a lot of hip hop but enjoy a good mix when they hear one.

Look out for previews from the EP and album in forthcoming shows and in the meantime enjoy this mix from Southpaw Chop!

Download Southpaw Chop – Save the Vinyl (right click and save as)

Never miss a show

Subscribe via our iTunes channel, RSS feed or newsletter and never miss a show. Simply click below:

Rhythm Incursions iTunes feedRhythm Incursions RSS feedRhythm Incursions Newsletter
blog comments powered by Disqus