Rhythm Incursions – April ’10

After nearly a week of blue, planeless skies here in London I guess we can confidently say that spring has arrived – and hopefully summer isn’t too far behind. So as we do every month let us celebrate with some music and another 2 hours of new, upcoming, old and unreleased bits for discerning ears.

On the show this month we’ve got new and forthcoming music from B-Ju, Ras G, Robot Koch Lando Kal, Lorn, Jahcoozi, FaltyDL, Om Unit, Letherette, Uncle Lew, Alex B, Take, Deru, LV and Quarta330, Shigeto, Skitz, Tokimonsta, Space Invadas, Yosi Horikawa, Dimlite and more alongside some favourites of recent times from RSD, James Blake, Uyama Hiroto, Mount Kimbie, Daisuke Tanabe and Flying Lotus among others.

This month’s mini feature meanwhile looks at the work of Japanese producer O.N.O. Probably best know as the producer for Tha Blue Herb, one of Japan’s most famous rap crews, and hailing from the northern island of Hokkaido, O.N.O has also been releasing under his name as a solo artist for well over ten years now. And it’s his work as a solo artist that’s always fascinated me since I discovered him thanks to Waxfactor about five years ago. This mini feature aims to shine a little light on the man’s incredible production range which runs from hip hop to dub, jungle to house, ambient to abstract and at times crazy electronic music. The constant in a lot of his music is his use of machines to create the sounds, something which really takes meaning when you see his live shows (youtube here and here) where equipped with 2 MPCs, a sequencer and effects units he puts on one of the most fascinating and enjoyable live electronic music shows I’ve ever seen. On the mini feature we’ve got 4 tracks from releases spanning most of his solo career and which as I said gives a nice idea of his diverse output. For more on the man check his website and those of you in/around Tokyo can catch him playing with Flying Lotus for a Tokyo Brainfeeder session soon – hopefully this might help shine some more light on his work outside Japan.

For now though sit back and enjoy another two hours of discerning music for discerning ears. As always you can grab the show directly at the link below, stream at the bottom of this post, or subscribe to our iTunes and/or RSS feed and you won’t even have to click through and read through all this every time we drop a new show. Look out for more guest mixes coming up next and some news regarding the shows. Until then enjoy!

Rhythm Incursions – April 2010 (right click and save as)

Flying Lotus – I Feel Like Dying – Bootleg, free download
Robot Koch – True – Forthcoming Project Mooncircle
UpHigh Collective – Blend – On Point
Tycho – Adrift (Shigeto’s A Dream Mix) – Ghostly International
Jahcoozi ft. M. Sayyid – Powerdown Blackout – Bpitch Control
Foals – Spanish Sahara (Mount Kimbie Remix) – Free download
Dong – Suzuran (LV and Quarta330 remix) – Forthcoming Hyperdub
RSD – Naked Mario Kart part 2 – Black Box
Sepalcure – Down – Forthcoming Hotflush recordings
Uncle Lew – Little Wolf – Unreleased
Letherette – On Video – Unreleased
Onra – Oper8tor – All City Records
Mini feature starts
O.N.O – Light Velocity – TBHR
O.N.O – Hazed Over – Nike Run
O.N.O – Night Scene – Rambling records
Mini feature ends
Daisuke Tanabe – Artificial Sweetener – Circulations
Tokimonsta – Smoke and Mirrors – Ramp Recordings
Alex B – You and I Both Know – Elm and Oak
Take – Neon Beams – Alpha Pup
James Blake – Harmonimix (Bills, Bills, Bills) – White Label
Mount Kimbie – Serged (FaltyDL remix) – Hotflush recordings
Lazer Sword – Shot In The Nite – Innovative Leisure
Self Says – Same Space (Just Easy) – Self Says (free download)
Uyama Hiroto – Ribbon In The Sea – Hyde Out Recordings
Deru – Cottonmouth Lothario – Mush Records
Lando Kal – Fuzzy Ankles – Numbers
Lorn – Bretagne – Forthcoming Brainfeeder
Vex’d – Fire (Blood 1 remix) – CSM (free download)
B-Ju – Dog Day – Error Broadcast
Skitz – Born Inna System – Forthcoming Dragon Drop
Foreign Beggars – Move Higher (Om Unit’s Lights Down mix) – Forthcoming Dented Records (exclusive premiere)
Portformat ft. Blaktronics – It’s On (Swedeart Remix) – Forthcoming Tokyo Dawn
Yosi Horikawa – Cook From South – Forthcoming Ubeat Records
Dimlite – Elbow Flood – Forthcoming Now Again (free download)
Space Invadas – Imaginist – Invada records
Antipop Consortium – Lift (Audace Remix) – Unreleased
Aquadrop – Strong Vibes – Unreleased (free download)
Ras G – Discipline 1 – Forthcoming Leaving Records

Never miss a show

Subscribe via our iTunes channel, RSS feed or newsletter and never miss a show. Simply click below:

Rhythm Incursions iTunes feedRhythm Incursions RSS feedRhythm Incursions Newsletter
blog comments powered by Disqus