Memory9 – Drive by Acid

So Memory9 is an old friend of ours and he’s been promising us a mix for what feels like forever now, though is more likely over a year. Still good things come to those who wait as the old saying goes, and when he delivered this little beauty last week we knew the wait had been worth it.

Based in Milan, I first discovered the man when he lived in London through our mutual friends at Open Sauce. We became friends and collaborated briefly last year for the Original Cultures project. A classically trained musician who’s as comfortable on an instrument as he is behind a screen with a copy of Max/MSP running, Memory9’s music has one foot firmly on the dancefloor and the other firmly in your mindspace. His most recent work saw him team up with none other than Juakali for a single on Skanky Panky records that received praise from far and wide. He’s also been busy helping to bring some fresh new sounds and artists to Milan – a city not always known for its musical forward thinking let’s face it.

All of which makes his guest mix for Rhythm Incursions all that more special. And that’s before we even get into the music on the mix itself which includes plenty of Rhythm Inc favourites mixed up in a way that’ll leave you slightly sweaty and wanting for more.

For more info on the man, his music and his live appearances peep the website where you’ll find everything in one handy place.

Much love to Memory9 for finally dropping by with acid drive by. Crank the volume and enjoy!

Download Memory9 – Drive by Acid (right click and save as)

1. Jos̩ Gonzalez РTeardrop [Mute]
2. Edgar Varese РPo̬me ̩lectronique [El Records]
3. King Cannibal – So… Embrace The Minimum [Ninja Tune]
4. Fuer.steps – Lunar Dust [Error Broadcast]
5. 16 Bit – Moth [Unknown]
6. Ta-ku – Talk To Me [Bandcamp]
7. Hudmo – Fuse [Warp]
8. Eskmo – The Melody [Ninja Tune]
9. Bobby Tank – Needin Me [Unreleased]
10. Lazer Sword – Batman [Innovative Leisure]
11. Jimmy Edgar – Inner Citee Color Reprise [Warp]
12. Squarepusher – Laser Rock [Warp]
13. DZA – J-Dat Inc. (Listening MD In Dub) [Error Broadcast]
14. Dorian Concept – Her Tears Taste Like Pears [Ninja Tune]
15. Ikonika – Red Marker Pens (Good Ending) [Hyperdub]
16. Machinedrum – Now U Know The Deal 4 Real 2 [Planet Mu]
17. Silkie – Wonder [Deep Medi]
18. Africa Hitech – Blen [Warp]
19. Death Grips – Guillotine [Self Released]
20. Loops Haunt – Rubber Sun Grenade [Fortified Audio]
21. Mutabaruka – Dis Poem [Greensleeves]
22. Boxcutter – Glyphic [Planet Mu]
23. Ital-Tek – Neon Ark [Planet Mu]
24. Kuedo – Starfox [Planet Mu]
25. Autechre – Known(1) [Warp]

Never miss a show

Subscribe via our iTunes channel, RSS feed or newsletter and never miss a show. Simply click below:

Rhythm Incursions iTunes feedRhythm Incursions RSS feedRhythm Incursions Newsletter
blog comments powered by Disqus