Friends of Friends mix series: Laurent Fintoni – What Friends Are For

For the 13th instalment of our Friends of Friends mix series we had a bit of a synchronous moment when both Leeor (who runs FoF) and myself suggested a retrospective mix of the label’s expanding catalogue. And seeing as how I’d opened the series back in March last year, Leeor asked if I’d be up for doing the retrospective, an offer I couldn’t really refuse (and no horse heads were involved either).

Going through the label’s catalogue and putting this together was a lot of fun. It also made me think a lot about this idea of friends which the label is based on. This year has taught me a lot about bonds of friendship and their importance. From my time in Japan during the March 11th earthquake to various other musical projects like Original Cultures and the Finest Ego compilation, 2011 has been the year of friendship for me in many ways. So when Leeor and I discussed the next episode of the Friends of Friends mix series, it felt almost normal that we would both suggest a retrospective look at the expanding FoF catalogue – after all we became friends because of the label. ’What Friends Are For’ celebrates the label, its musicians and their friends. I hope you enjoy it just as much as I did putting it together. It’s such a pleasure to work with these guys and I know that the day we finally meet will be a good one. Enjoy!

If you like what you hear then you should definitely check the back catalogue and purchase away. You’ll find all Friends of Friends releases in one handy place right here. And look out for more in 2012. The Friends of Friends mix series has featured the likes of My Dry Wet Mess, Streets of Beige, Ernest Gonzales, Groundislava, Darkhouse Family and more. You’ll find all the mixes here.

As always you can download and/or stream the show below or simply subscribe to our RSS/iTunes feeds to receive all the shows directly!

Download Laurent Fintoni – What Friends Are For (right click and save as)

1. Ernest Gonzales – Dancing In The Snow
2. Daedelus – L.A Nocturn
3. Daedelus – L.A Nocturn (Elliott Lipp remix)
4. Shlohmo – Birthday Beat
5. Bauchamp – Calypso
6. Salva ft. B. Bravo – Obsession
7. Robot Koch – Devil Drums
8. Mexicans with Guns – Icaros
9. Shlohmo – Things I Lost
10. Salva – Issey Miyake
11. Mexicans With Guns ft. Tiffany Preston – Sell Your Soul (Lunice remix)
12. Gun Selectah – Como Un Perro
13. Mexicans with Guns ft. MC Nocando – Got Me F_cked Up
14. Shlohmo – Just Us
15. Groundislava ft. Shlohmo and Jon Wayne – Shlava
16. Shlohmo – Hot Boxing the Cockpit
17. Jogger – Nice Tights (Nosaj Thing remix)
18. Shohmo – Antigravity (Fulgeance remix)
19. Groundislava ft. Weary – Panorama (Clive Tanaka remix)

Never miss a show

Subscribe via our iTunes channel, RSS feed or newsletter and never miss a show. Simply click below:

Rhythm Incursions iTunes feedRhythm Incursions RSS feedRhythm Incursions Newsletter
blog comments powered by Disqus