Rhythm Incursions – July 2012

Oh no you’re not dreaming, you are looking at a new, proper Rhythm Incursions podcast from yours truly following a six month hiatus. To be fair, Primus Luta and Raid System have held the fort in the time being and I’ve been kept busy by the BLN.FM residency as well as this thing called life (and launching the Original Cultures label among others). Still it’s nice to be back.

This month’s podcast picks up where we left off, two hours of discerning music for discerning ears covering some of the stuff I’ve been enjoying in the first half of the year alongside a whammy of new, unreleased and forthcoming music from the likes of Quakers, Kahn & Neek, Cosmic Bridge Records, Madlib, Konjah, Youngteamm, Lil Jabba, One Handed Music, the new JJ DOOM project, Lorn, Anenon, Cooly G and LV on Hyperdub, Kad Driver, Yes Creator, Open Mike Eagle, Typesun, Bolts, Submerse, Mala’s exciting In Cuba project, Yosi Horikawa, Comma, dBridge and more.

This month’s show has been a pleasure to put together, not least because it’s been such a while but also because it takes in a real diverse scope of music from hip hop and beats to electronic experiments and dance music explorations in and outside of genre boundaries. I feel it’s a been a good year for music so far, and I hope you’ll agree. Those of you paying attention will notice quite a few of the artists we’d earmarked as ones to watch at the beginning of the year as well. It won’t be this long until the next instalment, I promise.

As always you can download and/or stream the show below, or simply subscribe to our iTunes/RSS feed and never miss a show.


Download Rhythm Incursions – July 2012 (right click and save as)

Monte Carlo Polo Team – Zeus – Unreleased
Blackjob ft Suz – Rise Again – Original Cultures
LOL Boys – Changes (Anenon One Take Cover) – Friends of Friends
Sweatson Klank – Own – Project Mooncircle
Kendrick Lamar – Cartoons and Cereal – Free download
Strange Universe – Plastique – Forthcoming Eglo Records
Quakers ft. Guilty Simpson and MED – Fitta Happier – Stones Throw
Sweet Rendez Vous – Sweet Rendez Vous (Jazz Neversleeps Remix) – On Point
Mo Kolours – Keep It up (Claws For? Remix) – One Handed Music
SertOne – They Call – Melted Music
Open Mike Eagle ft. Nocando – Free Writing Exercises – Fake Four Records
Yes Creator – Achoice – Jack To Phono
Shigeto – Huron River Drive – Ghostly
Beat Inc – Revolution – Original Cultures
Bolts – Cheat – Unreleased
Submerse – They Always Come Back – Apollo records
Eprom – Love Number – Rwina Records
dBridge – Cornered – Metalheadz
Moresounds – Analog Steak (Danny Scrilla remix) – Cosmic Bridge
Paul White ft. Guilty Simpson – Trust (The Room Below version) – One Handed Music
Lorn – Ghosst – Ninja Tune
JJ DOOM – Guv’Nor – Forthcoming Lex
Madlib and Freddie Gibbs – Shame – Stones Throw
Chanes – Loyalty – Free download
Billy Woods – The Man Who Would Be King – Backwoods Studios
Anenon – Acquiesence (Yosi Horikawa remix) – Free download
Cooly G – What This World Needs Now – Hyperdub
Dusk + Blackdown + – High Road – Forthcoming Keysound
Typesun ft. Guido – Heart Maths – Forthcoming Root Elevation
Mala – Calle F – Forthcoming Brownswood
Kab Driver ft. Boxcutter and Brian Greene – Batteria – Forthcoming Airflex Labs
Comma – Tweggionaire (remix) – Frite Nite
Kahn & Neek – Percy – Bandulu
Greenwood Sharps & Py – Crowns – Free download
Andreikelos – Under Pressure – Equinox Records
LV – Sebenza – Hyperdub
Konjah – Dreams of Footwork – Unreleased
Youngteamm – Moksha – Free download
Lil Jabba – Steps (i Glide) – Free download

Never miss a show

Subscribe via our iTunes channel, RSS feed or newsletter and never miss a show. Simply click below:

Rhythm Incursions iTunes feedRhythm Incursions RSS feedRhythm Incursions Newsletter
blog comments powered by Disqus